The Start of Something New

by Evangelynn

You know that feeling when God puts something in your heart and you can’t seem to push it away? Yeah, that feeling is what I’m feeling right now. And this blog is the result of that feeling.

Here’s how it happened:

One night, as I was trying falling asleep, God put this crazy idea into my head – start your own blog. As you can probably guess, I did the typical move that everyone does when God tells them to do something crazy – laugh it off and brush it off. Usually, this works and you move on. However, this time, it didn’t work. I couldn’t get it out of my mind and I couldn’t fall asleep. Finally, I gave in and said these words, “God, if this is what you want, then give me a name for the blog.” I tried to think of a name all night but couldn’t and eventually fell asleep. But the second I woke up the next morning, these words came to my mind – the bride and her bridegroom. I repeated this over and over in my head – “the bride and her bridegroom, the bride and her bridegroom, etc…” What does this mean? And God said, “You are the bride and I am your bridegroom. Write about our love story.” And instantly, I knew that this was going to my blog’s name. It is a love story between me, the blemished bride, and Jesus Christ, the holy and beloved Bridegroom. It is a love story between US, the church, and Jesus Christ, the soon-returning and spotless Savior.

For the past few days, I have still been trying to forget about this whole blog thing. But God hasn’t been letting me forget it. As I have been reading the Word, He has been putting things in my heart, and He then puts in me this urge to write it all down. But I don’t. Everything just sits in my brain and I try to keep it in there because I don’t want to forget it, yet I still don’t want to write it down. I would rather stuff it all in, rather than sit down with a pen and paper and let it all out. If you know me, you know that I am very lazy when it comes to journaling. I don’t always like to journal and when I do, it’s for the “very important things”, and even then I still try to keep it as short as possible, often just simply running over the details and leaving out everything I know about order and grammar. So never in my dreams would I ever have imagined myself sitting here writing out an entire blog. But God has other plans. He wants me to remember the words that He speaks to me and He wants me to keep a record of my journey with Him. And along the way, perhaps He will use the words that I write to encourage and uplift those who read it. So here I am, sitting in my room, writing a blog.

My prayer for this blog is that it will touch and speak into the lives of those who read it. Maybe in the most seemingly insignificant ways, it will bring some light into darkness. Maybe in the smallest ways, it will speak life into dying situations. My hope is that through it, God will touch even just one person. It is not about me or the words that I write, but it’s about God – our Bridegroom. It is about Him and His love for His bride. I’m just a simple teenager who simply said yes to the prompting of the Holy Spirit. I don’t know what God has in-store from here on now, but I do know that He is faithful to complete the works that He begins in us. So here begins a new season in my life, a new ministry in my life, and a new work in my life.

– Evangelynn

_MG_3960_